Do Certified Coaches Charge More? (2026 Data)
Yes, certified coaches charge more, mostly at the higher ICF levels. Coaches with the ICF's PCC credential have a typical rate of $200 an hour (153 coaches), and MCC coaches charge $222 (24 coaches). Coaches who list no credential charge $125 (9,798 coaches). The entry level ACC credential comes with a smaller bump, to $138 (160 coaches).
Key numbers
- PCC coaches have a typical rate of $200 an hour, about 60% more than coaches with no credential listed ($125).
- Only about 5% of the 10,363 coaches who publish rates (565 coaches) list an ICF credential or mention the ICF.
- A credential lifts the bottom of the market most: The lower end moves from $55 (no credential) to $103 (PCC), while the top end moves from $300 to $331.
- Among executive coaches, ACC holders ($171) charge less than coaches with no credential listed ($187).
- Among life coaches, PCC holders charge about 50% more than coaches with no credential ($174 vs $115).
Coach rates by credential
Hourly rates for all coaches who publish a rate, split by the ICF credential they list.
| Where a coach falls | No credential listed | ICF, level not stated | ACC | PCC | MCC |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coaches (n) | 9,798 | 228 | 160 | 153 | 24 |
| Lower end (bottom 10%) | $55 | $60 | $80 | $103 | $120 |
| Lower quarter | $81 | $95 | $100 | $138 | $167 |
| Typical (median) | $125 | $135 | $138 | $200 | $222 |
| Upper quarter | $190 | $204 | $201 | $250 | $342 |
| Top end (top 10%) | $300 | $300 | $301 | $331 | $534 |
Each step up the ICF ladder comes with a higher typical rate. The biggest single jump is from ACC to PCC ($138 to $200). "ICF, level not stated" means the coach mentions the ICF but does not name a credential level. Those coaches price almost the same as ACC holders.
Do certified executive coaches charge more?
For executive coaches, the credential premium is smaller, and ACC does not help at all. We leave out MCC because only 12 executive coaches list it.
| Credential | Coaches (n) | Lower quarter | Typical (median) | Upper quarter | Typical rate vs no credential |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No credential listed | 2,034 | $123 | $187 | $275 | Baseline |
| ICF, level not stated | 69 | $112 | $200 | $275 | $13 more (7%) |
| ACC | 63 | $124 | $171 | $225 | $16 less (9%) |
| PCC | 78 | $153 | $211 | $300 | $24 more (13%) |
Executive coaches already charge more than most coaches, even without a credential. That leaves less room for a credential to move the price.
Do certified life coaches charge more?
Life coaches show a clearer pattern. Every credential level comes with a higher typical rate. We leave out MCC because only 13 life coaches list it.
| Credential | Coaches (n) | Lower quarter | Typical (median) | Upper quarter | Typical rate vs no credential |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No credential listed | 6,562 | $77 | $115 | $172 | Baseline |
| ICF, level not stated | 151 | $88 | $120 | $179 | $5 more (4%) |
| ACC | 95 | $94 | $125 | $162 | $10 more (9%) |
| PCC | 82 | $121 | $174 | $225 | $59 more (51%) |
ACC vs PCC vs MCC: What each credential takes
The three ICF credentials differ mainly in how much training and coaching experience a coach must log.
| ACC | PCC | MCC | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coach-specific training | 60 hours | 125 hours | 200 hours |
| Client coaching experience | 100 hours | 500 hours | 2,500 hours |
| Mentor coaching | 10 hours | 10 hours | 10 hours |
| Typical hourly rate in our data | $138 | $200 | $222 |
PCC requires five times the client coaching hours that ACC does (500 vs 100), and MCC requires five times the PCC level. So the rate gap between levels may reflect experience as much as the credential itself.
What drives the price
- The credential level, not just having one. ACC holders ($138) price about the same as coaches who only mention the ICF ($135). The real jump comes at PCC ($200).
- Experience behind the credential. The ICF's 2025 study found that revenue and fees rise with experience. Baby Boomer coaches, most of whom have over five years of experience, charge $270 an hour on average vs $193 for Millennials. Since higher credentials require more hours, part of the premium is likely experience.
- A higher floor. Credentialed coaches rarely charge very low rates. The bottom 10% of PCC coaches charge $103 or less, almost double the figure for coaches with no credential ($55).
- Coach type. The PCC premium is about 60% across all coaches but about 13% for executive coaches, who already charge more without one.
- How the price is posted. 98% of PCC coaches post a range, compared with 88% of coaches with no credential.
Is ICF certification worth it?
For buyers, a credential is proof that a coach finished training and logged coaching hours. It is not proof that the coach is good at your kind of problem. Paying $75 more an hour for a PCC coach makes sense when you want someone with a lot of logged experience, or when your employer asks for a credentialed coach. It is not worth it when a coach without a credential has a strong track record with people like you.
For coaches, the data suggests ACC alone does little for price. In the executive market it comes with a lower typical rate than no credential at all. The clearer price gain shows up at PCC. Our data shows a link between credentials and rates, not proof that the credential causes the higher rate.
How we matched rates to credentials
We sorted 10,363 coaches who post an hourly rate by the ICF credential shown on their directory profile, then looked again inside executive coaches (2,256) and life coaches (6,903). Credential rules come from an ICF-approved training school's summary of ICF requirements. The limit that matters most: We only see credentials coaches choose to list, and a higher rate next to a credential shows a link, not proof that the credential causes it. See our full method
CoachVouch. "Do Certified Coaches Charge More?." September 2026. https://coachvouch.com/research/do-certified-coaches-charge-more/Common questions
Do ICF certified coaches charge more? Yes. Coaches listing an ICF credential have higher typical rates, from $138 (ACC) to $222 (MCC), compared with $125 for coaches with no credential listed.
What do ICF PCC coaches charge? The typical PCC coach charges $200 an hour, and the middle half charge $138 to $250, based on 153 coaches.
ACC vs PCC vs MCC: What is the difference? They differ mainly by required experience: 100, 500, and 2,500 client coaching hours. Their typical rates in our data are $138, $200, and $222.
Is ICF certification worth it? The PCC level shows a clear rate gain, about 60% over no credential. ACC comes with a smaller gain, about $13 over no credential across all coaches, and among executive coaches ACC holders charge less than coaches with no credential.
How many coaches hold an ICF credential? In our data, about 5% of coaches who publish rates list an ICF credential or mention the ICF.
Related reading
- Coaching rates per hour
- How much does executive coaching cost?
- How many coaches are there?
- Browse coaches by field: Dating and relationships, Business, Executive and leadership, Career, Fitness and health, Admissions
Sources
- ICF Credentialing requirements (Academy of Creative Coaching, an ICF-approved training school)
- 2025 ICF Global Coaching Study, Executive Summary (International Coaching Federation)